Chennai: Jagan Kumar of TVS Racing put in another commanding performance to seal the title in the premium Super Sport Indian (165cc) class on the penultimate day of the fifth and final round of the MRF MMSC Fmsci Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship 2016 at the MMRT track, Sriperumbudur, near here on Saturday.

With just one more race to be run on Sunday and a maximum of 25 points available, 28-year-old Jagan, who chalked up his fourth win from nine starts today, took his tally to 166, well beyond the reach of his nearest rival and team-mate Kannan Subramaniam (122). It is Jagan’s fifth championship title in as many years.

Also clinching the championship in his class, the Super Sport Indian 300-400cc, was Auroville-based Spaniard Ami van Poederooijen (Rockstar Racing) who roared to his sixth win in nine races with another dominating ride.

Anthony Peter (Performance Racing) though finished second behind Bengaluru’s Yashas RL in the concluding Stock 165cc race earned sufficient points to annex the championship in the Stock 165cc class ahead of Hubballi’s Anish Shetty.

The championship in the Pro Stock 165cc class, however, is still wide open with Honda Ten10 team-mates Rajiv Sethu (169) and Hari Krishnan Rajagopal (153) in the frame for the title which will be decided on Sunday when the second of the double-header will be run. In Saturday’s outing, Sethu finished a distant first while Hari Krishnan came away without a point.

In the MMSC One-Make Championships, Mathana Kumar (Honda CBR 250), Anish Shetty (Honda CBR 150), Yashas (TVS Apache RTR 200 Novice), Meka Vidhuraj (Suzuki Gixxer Cup Open) and Joseph Mathew (Suzuki Gixxer Cup Novice) emerged champions in their respective categories.

Provisional results (all six laps unless mentioned):

National Championship – Super Sport Indian (300-400cc):  1. Ami van Poederooijen (Rockstar Racing) (12mins, 09.200secs); 2. Amarnath Menon (Rockstar Racing) (12:13.491); 3. Abhishek Vasudev (Rockstar Racing) (12:20.926).

Super Sport Indian (165cc): 1. Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing) (12:14.805); Harry Sylvester (TVS Racing) (12:16.422); 3. Mathana Kumar (Honda Ten10 Racing) (12:18.772).

Pro Stock (165cc): 1. Rajiv Sethu (Honda Ten10 Racing) (12:43.867); 2. Mithun Kumar (Honda Ten10 Racing) (12:48.541); 3. Prabhu Arunagiri (RACR) (12:49.197).

Stock (165cc): 1. Yashas RL (Bengaluru) (13:28.353); 2. Antony Peter (Performance Racing) (13:28.368); 3. Soorya PM (Speed Up Racing) (13:28.513).

MMSC One-Make Championship – TVS Apache RTR 200 (Open): 1. Kannan Karnan (Chennai) (13:22.756); 2. Arun Muthukrishnan (Chennai) (13:23.539); 3. Prashanth Kumar (Karimnagar) (13:23.605). Novice: 1. Yashas RL (Bengaluru) (09:13.274); 2. Peddu Sriharsha (Chennai) (09:15.052); 3. Aditya Rao Immaneni (Bengaluru) (09:17.922).

Honda CBR 250 (Open): 1. Hari Krishnan R (Honda Ten10 Racing) (15:06.767); 2.Mathana Kumar S (Honda Ten10 Racing) (15:07.349);  3. Ananth Raj P (Pro Lap Racing) (15:07.919). CBR 150 (Novice, 4 laps): 1. Piyush Ranjan (Patna) (09:05.163); 2. Mahesh Murali M (Kerala) (09:07.506); 3. Soorya PM (Chennai) (09:08.460).

Suzuki Gixxer Cup (Novice, 4 laps): 1. Joseph Mathew (Chennai) (09:11.643); 2. Vishal S (Chennai) (09:22.692); 3. Alexander AS (Chennai) (09:24.259).

All Ladies Support Races (4 laps) – Honda: 1. Aishwarya Pissay (Bengaluru) (09:27.007); 2. Ryhana Bee A (Chennai) (09:39.365); Niranjanie Ravishankar (Chennai) (09:56.603). Alisha Abdullah Training Academy (4 laps): 1. Haritha R (Bangalore) (9:41.731); 2. Olesya V Dias (Goa) (10:09.644); 3. Renuka Gajendran (Bangalore) (10:29.673).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here