Chennai: In one of the closest contests, Performance Racing team’s Antony Peter barely held on to a slender lead to win the Stock 165cc race as the fifth and concluding round of the MRF MMSC Fmsci Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship commenced at the MMRT track, Sriperumbudur, near here on Friday.

In a hectic battle, Peter, who started second on the grid for the six-lap race, edged out pole-sitter and championship leader Hubbali’s Anish Shetty (United Tech Torque) while Soorya PM (Speedup Racing) from Chennai came in a close third.

The trio of front-runners was bunched up for the better part of the race and they finished within a second of one another to provide a thrilling finish.

Meanwhile, Sri Lankan teenager Aaron Gunawardene rode to a brilliant win in the Suzuki Gixxer Cup (Open) category of the MMSC One-Make Championship, but third placed Meka Vidhuraj from Andhra picked up enough points to pocket the title in this category

Starting fourth on the grid, Gunawardene made his way to the front after pole sitter Vivian Gladwin ran wide when under pressure. While the Sri Lankan youngster went on to win the race, R Rajinikanth from Chennai finished second ahead of Vidhuraj who had gained three places and Gladwin had to be content with fourth spot.

Vidhuraj earned 15 points which boosted his tally to 158 with one race to be run while Gladwin is placed second on 123, just ahead of Rajinikanth (121).

Bengaluru’s Yashas RL comfortably won the TVS Apache RTR 200 race for Novice riders in the MMSC One-Make championship and Piyush Ranjan from Patna took the honours in the Honda CBR 150 (Novice) race after a hard-fought battle.

Provisional results:

National Championship:

Stock Upto 165cc (Race 1 – 6 laps): 1. Antony Peter (Performance Racing) (13mins, 31.276secs); 2. Anish D Shetty (United Tech Torque) (13:31.549); 3. Yashas RL (Bengaluru) (13:31.857).

MMSC One-Make Championship:

TVS Apache RTR200 Novice (Race 1 – 4 laps): 1. Yashas RL (Bangalore) (9:06.493); 2. Hari Prasath R (Chennai) (9:10.456); 3. Yuvaraj S (Chennai) (9:10.766).

Honda CBR150 Novice (Race 1 – 4 laps): 1. Piyush Ranjan (Patna) (09:01.720); 2. Soorya PM (Chennai) (09:02.245); 3. Shreyas Shankar Sannake (Miraj) (09:02.533).

Suzuki Gixxer Cup (Open – Race 1, 6 laps): 1. Aaron Gunawardena (Sri Lanka) (14:01.800); 2. R Rajinikanth (Chennai) (14:04.201); 3. Meka Vidhuraj (Nuzvid, AP) (14:08.988).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here