Grand double for Jagan Kumar, Deepak Ravikumar

  • Grand double for Jagan Kumar, Deepak Ravikumar

Chennai: Defending champion Jagan Kumar led a podium sweep for TVS Racing even as he resurrected his campaign with a grand double in the fourth and penultimate round of the MRF MMSC fmsci Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship at the MMRT track, here on Sunday.

Having won the first race in the premier Super Sport Indian (up to 165cc) class on Saturday, Jagan Kumar maintained his crackling form with another flawless ride to top the second outing today and narrowed the gap with leader Rajiv Sethu (Honda Ten10 Racing) to just one point. Sethu did no favours for his chances as he high-sided after exiting the short loop.

The 50 points that Jagan garnered this weekend, saw him jump two spots from fourth to second on the leaderboard, moving past team-mate Harry Sylvester (99) and Honda Ten10 Racing’s Mathana Kumar (109) who too crashed, but managed to finish the race in sixth position.

Finishing second behind Jagan were team-mates KY Ahamed and Kannan Subramaniam as the trio underlined TVS Racing’s dominance as the championship moves into the final round slated for September 29-October 1 at the same venue.

“For the first time this season, I got the bike set-up right. Yesterday, it was a close fight with Rajiv Sethu initially, but today, it was very comfortable. Both Rajiv and Mathana Kumar crashed and I eased up considerably,” said Jagan after chalking up his fourth win of the season.

In the Pro-Stock (Up to 165cc) category, Hubballi’s Anish Shetty (Honda Ten10 Racing) scored his maiden win of the season, ahead of championship leader and team-mate Aravind Balakrishnan and Moto-Rev’s Aravind Ganesh. The result saw Balakrishnan move to 126 points while Ganesh has 105.

The Novice class (Stock, up to 165cc) is also poised for a keen finish as Sparks Racing also enjoyed a 1-2-3 finish today with Peddu Sriharsha, Sri Rahil Pillarishetty and Satyanarayana Raju taking the chequered flag in that order.

Pillarishetty heads the leaderboard in this category with 61 points, followed by Sriharsha and RACR’s Anup Kumar, both tied on 50, six ahead of Raju.

The results (Provisional):

Super Sport Indian (Up to 165cc) – Race 2 (14 laps): 1. Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing) (16mins, 07.755secs); 2. KY Ahamed (TVS Racing) (16:10.683); 3. Kannan Subramaniam (TVS Racing) (16:14.220).

Pro-Stock (Up to 165cc) – Race 2 (14 laps): 1. Anish Shetty (Honda Ten10 Racing) (16:57.557); 2. Aravind Balakrishnan (Honda Ten10 Racing) (16:58.142); 3. Aravind Ganesh (Chennai) (17:19.539).

Super Sport Indian (300-400cc) – Race 2 (9 laps): 1. Deepak Ravikumar (Moto-Rev) (10:20.439); 2. Antony Peter (Coimbatore) (10:26.416); 3. Amarnath Menon (Gusto Racing) (10:34.707).

Stock Up to 165cc (Novice, 9 laps): 1. Peddu Sriharsha (Sparks Racing) (11:21.635); 2. Sri Rahil Pillarishetty (Sparks Racing) (11:21.711); 3. Satyanarayana Raju (Sparks Racing) (11:22.109).

One-Make Championship – Honda CBR 250 (Open): Race 1 (9 laps): 1. Hari Krishnan Rajagopal (Chennai) (10:40.123); 2. Rajiv Sethu (Chennai) (10:40.160); 3. Aravind Balakrishnan (Chennai) (10:40.831). Race 2 (14 laps): 1. Hari Krishnan (16:31.069); 2. Sethu (16:31.136); 3. Amit Richard Topno (16:34.147). CBR 150 (Novice) – Race 2 (9 laps): 1. Amala Jerald A (Chennai) (11:26..244); 2. Senthil Kumar (Coimbatore) (11:26.274); 3. Aswin Kumar R (Chennai) (11:26.768).

TVS Apache RTR 200 (Open) – Race 2 (9 laps): 1. Sivanesan S (Chennai) (11:20.637); 2. Arun Muthukrishnan (Chennai) (11:23.938); 3. Anand Kumar S (Chennai) (11:24.060). Novice (Race 2, 9 laps): 1. Anup Kumar M (Chennai) (11:26.901); 2. Peddu Sriharsha (Chennai) (11:26.977); 3. Shankar Guru A (Chennai) (11:31.310).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here