Chennai: After a month’s break the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship resumes with the fourth and penultimate round on Saturday at the MMRT track, Sriperumbudur, near here.

In all, 10 races have been scheduled for Sunday preceded by free practice and qualifying sessions on Saturday. With the championship titles in each of the four National Championship categories – Super Sport Indian 300-400cc, Super Sport Indian 165cc, Pro-Stock 165cc and Stock 165cc – up for grabs, the competition is expected to be razor sharp.

The Yamaha MMSC One Make Championship for Novice riders support races for Super Bikes will also be run on the National Championship card with a double-header.

As in the previous three rounds, the number of entries is encouraging with over 100 riders drawn from across the country in the fray.

The Super Sport Indian category will no doubt be the cynosure with some of country’s top racers vying for honours.  In the 300-400cc class, Ami van Poederooijen from Auroville, Puducherry, and Bengaluru’s Abhishek Vasudev, both from Rockstar Racing team, have been dominant as the duo head the leaderboard with 85 and 79 points, respectively.

TVS Racing’s Jagan Kumar (108) enjoys a 13-point advantage over Deepak Ravikumar (RACR) in the Super Sport Indian 165cc class which will be run concurrently with the Pro-Stock 165cc category in a combined grid. Ravikumar, however, is not entered for this round.

Honda Ten10 Racing team riders Hari Krishnan Rajagopal and Rajiv Sethu, fresh from their campaign in the last weekend’s Asia Road Racing Championship at the Buddh International Circuit in Greater Noida, are the front-runners in the Pro-Stock category with 127 and 94 points, respectively.

Coimbatore’s Antony Peter of RAC Racing and Anish Shetty (United Tech Torque) from Hubballi, Karnataka, with 108 and 92 points, respectively, are locked in a two-way battle for top honours.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here